to the homepage of
NÖ Bildungsgesellschaft m.b.H. für Fachhochschul- und Universitätswesen


In 2000 the organisation was commissioned by the Lower Austrian Regional Authority to take over the co-ordination and administration of the University of Applied Science (Fachhochschule) and university systems in Lower Austria. It has also been charged with drawing up a concept for the entire tertiary education system.

 The Concept of the Fachhochschule (FH)

In order to widen the scope of higher education, study courses have been offered at Fachhochschulen in Austria since the 1994/95 academic year. Their educational focus is both academic and vocational, and the curriculum includes compulsory professional practical training. The number of students per year and study course is limited, necessitating an admission procedure. In Lower Austria there are currently approximately 1,200 places for first year students. The basic admission requirement is a general university entrance certificate (Matura, Berufsreifeprüfung or university entrance exam) or a relevant professional qualification.

Since the 2003/04 academic year there have been three different types of Fachhochschule study programmes in Austria : bachelor, master and degree programmes. For the degree programmes the duration of study is 8 semesters, for bachelor programmes 6 semesters and for master programmes 2 to 4 semesters. Graduates of degree or master programmes are entitled to enrol in Ph.D. studies at university, which last a further two semesters.

The three Fachhochschulen in Krems, St. Pölten and Wr. Neustadt (with campuses in Tulln and Wieselburg) offer a total of 16 FH-degree programmes. In the winter semester of 2004/05 six of these will be converted to bachelor/master programmes. Currently approximately 3,880 students are enrolled at Fachhochschulen in Lower Austria

 University System

Austria has 21 universities and one University Centre for Further Education in Krems (Danube University Krems). All persons who have a general university entrance certificate or a Berufsreifeprüfung or have passed a university entrance exam are entitled to enter the university degree programmes. 

The Danube University Krems in Lower Austria enjoys a special position. When the new Federal Law came into force (Spring 2004) this university became the University Centre for Further Education Krems and an equal partner of the Scientific Community in Austria and Europe . Currently over 2,800 students from 40 countries are enrolled in more than 100 university programmes. The university awards internationally-recognised postgraduate qualifications (MBA, MSc , MA , M.E.S, etc.). 


To make our homepage more user-friendly, some of our pages are presented in English. These are:

General information on the University of Applied Science (FH) and The University system and

Degree programmes at the University of Applied Science (FH) in Lower Austria .

All other pages are in German only, e.g.:

FH-degree programmes in Austria, Universities in Austria,

about the "Bildungsatlas Niederösterreich", our Publications and

Important educational links 


We hope you find all the information you need on our homepage.